Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs is really a serious crime that carries stiff penalties in Maine. If you are convicted of a DUI, you can be facing jail time, hefty fines, and the suspension of one’s driver’s license. Understanding the state’s maine dui laws might help make certain that you stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble. Here’s an breakdown of what you need to learn about criminal defense attorney maine.
Maine’s Legal Drinking Limit
In Maine, it’s illegal for drivers 21 years of age and over to use a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) degree of .08% or higher. For drivers under 21 years of age, the legal drinking limit is much lower—just .02%. Drivers which are found operating an automobile with either of those BAC levels will undoubtedly be faced with Driving Underneath the Influence (DUI). Additionally, all drivers must submit to chemical tests if requested by police officers after being arrested for suspected drunk driving. Refusal to submit to such tests may result in additional penalties and fines.
Consequences for DUIs
The effects for DUIs depend on whether it is your first offense. For first-time offenders, they could face as much as 364 days in jail and fines including $500-$2,000. Furthermore, their driver’s license will also be suspended for 90 days. For second-time offenders within 10 years of the first offense, they could face 5 years in prison and fines between $1,000-$4,000 in addition to having their license suspended for approximately 2 years. In regards to third-time offenders within 10 years of the previous convictions, they are able to face 10 years in prison with fines which range from $2,000-$5,000 whilst having their license suspended for 6 years.
Implied Consent Law
Under Maine’s implied consent law drivers are needed by law to submit to chemical tests when asked by police officers following an arrest made on suspicion of drunk driving. Refusal to take such tests can lead to additional penalties including increased punishment if convicted as well as suspension of one’s driver’s license for 3 years even if he/she was found not guilty at trial as a result of not enough evidence obtained from chemical testing results.Furthermore, refusal can be used against someone during trial if he/she refuses before being given Miranda warnings and again after being informed by police officers in regards to the implied consent law.
Understanding the DUI laws in Maine is important so that you can stay safe on the roads and avoid any legal trouble should you ever get behind the wheel after consuming alcohol or drugs. The legal BAC limit is .08% or older for anyone 21 and over whilst it drops down significantly just .02% for folks who are younger than 21. Additionally, refusing chemical tests can lead to additional penalties even if one isn’t guilty because of not enough evidence obtained through testing results which supports explain why one must comply with such requests when asked by law enforcement officers following an arrest made under suspicion of drunk driving in accordance with implied consent laws in this state. When it comes time getting behind the wheel remember not merely is it illegal but it may run you dearly too!